Thai Red Curry

Alright let me begin this by saying I absolutely love thai food, and traditionally I’m sure you are supposed to mix certain vegetables or meats with specific kinds of curries (i.e. you usually see seafood or eggplant in green curries and generally chicken or red pepper in red curry).

I consider myself a guerilla cook, I toss virtually whatever I think in my heads sounds like a good combination; there have been times this hasn’t worked out but many more it has!

You can make thai food the long and hard way or you can do it the short and quick way which is the recipe I am about to show you. This honestly takes no time at all to make, especially if you are making it vegetarian so get your thai on!

thai red curry billow & brine

Yum Yum Red Curry (Serves 2)

1/2 can of full fat coconut milk
1/2 an eggplant chopped
3 medium carrots sliced thinly
1 cup diced butternut squash (feel free to bake one and chop it up; however its faster to buy frozen pre-diced squash)
1 1/2 tbsp red curry paste * (this is really dependent on how spicy you want it, so add a bit to start then gradually add more if you want it spicier!)
1/2 tbsp sugar
3-4 kaffir lime leaves chopped thinly *I find by adding Kaffir Lime leaves it really makes the curry taste a lot better, you don’t have to add it by I highly suggest it!

Directions

Add some oil to a pan or wok (I used coconut oil) or generally I use sesame oil. Toss around eggplant, carrots, and squash until eggplant becomes translucent or almost soft. Add red curry paste to pan and mix with vegetables then add your coconut milk.

Continue cooking vegetables and add your kaffir lime leaves and sugar, continue to cook on medium-low and simmer for 15 minutes.

Don’t forget to serve with rice! If you feel up to it make this recipe with coconut rice, or just plain basmati rice.

Thai Red Curry billow and brine

Other vegetables I like cooking this recipe with are okra and red/yellow peppers and of course add chicken or seafood if you’d like!

2 thoughts on “Thai Red Curry

Leave a Reply

